Thursday, November 1, 2012

Free Admission to the Acoustica 21 series: The Living Earth Show at Harold Golen Gallery in Miami, November 9

Acoustica 21 series:
The Living Earth Show
(Travis Andrews, guitar and Andrew Meyerson, percussion)

Harold Golen Gallery, 2294 NW 2nd Ave, Wynwood Art District, Miami FL, 33127

November 9, 2012 at 8PM

More info at
Admissions: Free

The Living Earth Show is excited to present the east coast premiere of Luciano Chessa's "Squeeze! Squeeze! Squeeze!" an hour-long theatrical post-minimalist composition based upon the oft-overlooked 94th chapter of Herman Melville's Moby Dick. Written for The Living Earth Show in 2012, the piece features custom-designed quartertone instruments (a vibraphone and a guitar) to present a warped hour-long etude, interspersed with theatrical staging and textural, performance-based "interruptions." "Squeeze! Squeeze! Squeeze!" explores the distorted soundscapes of Pink Floyd and The Jesus and Mary Chain, the physical and mental endurance of Michael Gordon's "Timber," the seemingly indeterminate theatrical events of John Cage's "Happenings," and the meditations on the relationships between art and sexuality found in the works Julius Eastman.

Guitarist Travis Andrews and percussionist Andrew Meyerson are The Living Earth Show, a San Francisco-based classical duo, presenting dynamic performances of amplified, electro-acoustic contemporary chamber music. The Living Earth Show’s upcoming season includes performances of works written for the group by such composers as Samuel Carl Adams, Timo Andres, Adrian Knight, Luciano Chessa, Dan Becker, Chris Cerrone, Nick Vasallo, Andy Akiho, Ken Ueno, Jon Russell, and Damon Waitkus. The season will also feature the United States premiere of Brian Ferneyhough’s Renvoi/Shards, composed in 2008 for quartertone vibraphone and quartertone electric guitar.